Log in Newsletter

Elections 2022

Kathy Jensen defeats challenger Alex Rodriguez

Kathy Jensen will serve her fifth term on the Fayetteville City Council after defeating Alex Rodriguez on Tuesday in the race for the District 1 seat, according to unofficial returns. Jensen, 57, …

City Councilwoman Shakeyla Ingram, running for her second term in office, held off former Councilman Tyrone Williams in Tuesday’s election for the District 2 seat on the Fayetteville City Council, according to unofficial results.

Challenger Mario Benavente edged incumbent Antonio Jones by six votes on Tuesday in the election to represent District 3 on the Fayetteville City Council, unofficial returns show. Benavente …

D.J. Haire wins 11th term in District 4

D.J. Haire will be one of the longest-serving members of the Fayetteville City Council after easily turning back challenger Thomas C. Greene on Tuesday for the District 4 seat, according to …

Incumbent Fayetteville City Councilman Johnny Dawkins handily defeated political newcomer Fred G. LaChance on Tuesday in the election for the District 5 seat on the council, according to unofficial results.

Derrick Thompson defeated business owner Peter Pappas in Tuesday’s municipal election, according to unofficial returns. Thompson received 962 votes and Pappas received 619 votes, according o unofficial results from the N.C. State Board of Elections.

Political newcomer Brenda McNair on Tuesday upset incumbent Larry O. Wright Sr. for the District 7 seat on the Fayetteville City Council, according to unofficial returns. McNair received 679 votes …

Freshman City Councilwoman Courtney Banks-McLaughlin will return for a second term representing District 8, according to unofficial election returns.

Bill Kirby Jr.: Mama always voted, and so do I

You’ll find the old house along N.C. 690 heading into the little town of Vass in Moore County. Seems like it has been there forever and a day. “That’s Bill Smith’s …

Tuesday is Election Day for Fayetteville voters, who will cast ballots for mayor and nine members of the City Council. Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

« Prev | 1 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next »
Currently viewing stories posted within the past 2 years.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.