Log in Newsletter

Early voting begins Thursday in Fayetteville mayor, City Council election

Ballots may be cast at the Cumberland County Board of Elections Office through July 23


Early voting begins Thursday in the elections for Fayetteville mayor and City Council.

The one-stop early-voting period ends on July 23, a Saturday.

In Cumberland County, early voting is open only at the Board of Elections Office, 227 Fountainhead Lane.

Hours for early voting at the Board of Elections Office are:

  • 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday and Friday, July 7-8.
  • 8 a.m.-5 p.m. July 11-15 and July 18-22, which are weekdays.
  • 8 a.m.-3 p.m. July 23, a Saturday.

Voters will go to the polls on July 26 to cast their ballots in person at their assigned polling places.

Registered voters or others who are eligible may cast an absentee ballot during the early-voting period. No special circumstance or reason is needed to vote absentee, but voters must file an absentee ballot request form. The deadline for that is 5 p.m. July 19.

Absentee ballot requests can be submitted at N.C. Absentee Ballot Portal.

The deadline to return an absentee ballot is Election Day, July 26.

Same-day voter registration will be available during the early-voting period. Anyone who is not registered to vote in the county may register and vote at the same time at the Board of Elections Office.

Voters may check their registration and see a sample ballot online at voter search. Absentee voters can confirm that their vote was counted at the same site.

Curbside voting is offered for those who are disabled or otherwise qualify for assistance.

Active-duty military members and their dependents can access expedited voter registration and vote by mail-in ballot at Military and Overseas Voting.

In Fayetteville, voters will choose between these candidates in 10 contests:

  • Mayor: Mitch Colvin, Freddie De la Cruz.
  • City Council District 1: Kathy Keefe Jensen, Alex Rodriguez.
  • City Council District 2: Shakeyla Ingram, Tyrone A. Williams.
  • City Council District 3: Mario Benavente, Antonio Jones.
  • City Council District 4: Thomas Greene, D.J. Haire.
  • City Council District 5: Johnny Dawkins, Fred LaChance.
  • City Council District 6: Peter Pappas, Derrick Thompson.
  • City Council District 7: Brenda McNair, Larry Wright.
  • City Council District 8: Courtney Banks-McLaughlin, Michael Pinkston.
  • City Council District 9: Deno Hondros, Yvonne Kinston.
Fayetteville, mayor, City Council, election, early voting