Log in Newsletter

Incumbent Colvin, challenger De la Cruz to vie for mayor in November

Field is also set for District 2, District 5 races


Incumbent Mayor Mitch Colvin will face challenger Freddie de la Cruz in Nov. 7’s general election after the pair led a four-person ballot in Fayetteville’s nonpartisan primary Tuesday.

The race was one of three contested in the city during an election cycle that saw just under 11,000 registered voters cast votes. 

Colvin, who first won election as mayor in 2017, received 60.5% of the vote, or 6,472 votes, while de la Cruz secured 21.8% of the ballots, or 2,339 votes., according to unofficial returns.

Charles Evans had 1,736 votes, or 16.4%, and Quancidine Hinson-Gribble received 142 votes, or 1.3%, finishing third and fourth. They will not be on the November ballot.

In the District 2 race, which saw seven candidates face off, challenger Malik Davis led the balloting with 520 votes, or 34.3% of votes cast. Incumbent Councilwoman Shakeyla Ingram barely secured her spot in November’s general election, coming in second with 21% of the vote, or 319 votes — narrowly beating third-place Laura Rodrigues Mussler, who received 278 votes.

Davis and Ingram, as the leading candidates, will vie for the District 2 seat in the general election. 

In the District 5 race, Lynne Bissette Green won 890 votes, or 46.5% of the ballots cast, finishing ahead of incumbent Johnny Dawkins, who ended up with 678 votes, or 35.5% of the vote. Justin Herbe finished third in the race with 211 votes, or 11%, while Fred G. LaChance III came in last with 127 votes, or 6.6%. As the top two vote-getters, Dawkins and Green will contend for the District 5 seat in the general election. 

All vote totals are unofficial until reviewed by the Cumberland County Board of Elections.

This is a developing story. For more, follow CityView at www.cityviewnc.com and subscribe to CityView Today, our free daily digital newsletter.

Fayetteville, mayor, council, vote, election 2023