Log in Newsletter


Your guide to early voting in Cumberland County’s March 5 primaries


One-stop early voting for the March 5 primaries begins on Thursday, with eight locations across Cumberland County where voters can cast their ballots.

Here’s everything you need to know about early voting in Cumberland County:


According to the county, the following locations will be open for early voting from Feb. 15 to March 2:

  • Kiwanis Recreation Center at 352 Deavers Street in Fayetteville.
  • College Lakes Recreation Center at 4945 Rosehill Road in Fayetteville.
  • Stoney Point Recreation Center at 7411 Rockfish Road in Fayetteville.
  • Cliffdale Recreation Center at 6404 Cliffdale Road in Fayetteville.
  • Smith Recreation Center at 1520 Slater Avenue in Fayetteville.
  • JD Pone Recreation Center at 2964 School Road in Hope Mills.
  • East Regional Library at 4809 Clinton Road in Fayetteville.
  • Spring Lake Recreation Center at 245 Ruth Street in Spring Lake.

Date, times the sites will be open:

  • Feb. 15-16: 8 a.m. - 7:30 p.m. 
  • Feb. 17: 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Feb. 18: 2 - 5 p.m.
  • Feb. 19-March 1: 8 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • March 2: 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Early voting sites will be closed Feb. 24 and 25, according to the county.

What do I need to bring?

All voters must bring a form of photo ID, according to the State Board of Elections. The requirement follows the state’s new voter ID law, which was first implemented in the fall 2023 municipal elections. 

Cumberland County residents can request a free photo ID through the county’s Board of Elections by visiting the office, located at 227 Fountainhead Lane in Fayetteville, during regular business hours. Voters will need to fill out a request form before receiving the ID, which lasts for 10 years after its issuance. Visit the Cumberland County Board of Elections website for more details on obtaining a free voter ID card.

According to a Feb. 13 news release, the N.C. State Board of Elections has sent out postcards to all 4.9 million households in North Carolina with information on acceptable forms of ID and how to get a free voter ID from county boards of elections.

Acceptable forms of photo ID include:

  • A North Carolina driver’s license that is valid and unexpired or has been expired for a year or less.
  • An ID from the N.C. Department of Motor Vehicles that is valid and unexpired or has been expired for a year or less.
  • A U.S. passport book or card that is valid and unexpired or has been expired for a year or less.
  • A North Carolina county board of elections voter ID card that is valid and unexpired or has been expired for a year or less.
  • A military or veterans photo ID card issued by the federal government.
  • An ID card with a photo issued by a federal or state agency for a public assistance program.
  • A tribal enrollment card with a photo issued by the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Indians, or the Coharie, Haliwa-Saponi, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, Sappony or Waccamaw Siouan tribes.
  • A student or public employee ID, as approved by the N.C. Board of Elections. Locally, these include photo IDs from Fayetteville State University, UNC Pembroke and Methodist University.

The full list of acceptable photo IDs can be found here.

What if I’m not registered to vote?

Those not registered to vote can participate in same-day registration at the early voting sites. 

According to the State Board of Elections, you must meet the following requirements to register to vote: 

  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Be at least 18 or turning 18 on or before Nov. 5, 2024, the date of the general election.
  • Not serving a felony sentence, including probation, post-release supervision or parole.
  • Live in Cumberland County and have lived at the address you are registering with for at least a month prior to March 5.

Those wanting to register must provide proof of residence through a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check, government document or document from an educational institution whose photo ID you are using to vote.

What primaries are being held?

Primaries will take place for the following local races: 

  • N.C. House District 42’s race will have a Democratic primary, with candidates Elmer Floyd, Mike Colvin, Courtney Banks-McLaughlin and Naveed Aziz facing off.
  • N.C. House District 44’s race will have a Libertarian primary, with candidates Angel Yaklin and Christina Aragues competing for the seat.
  • The Cumberland County Board of Commissioners race will have two primaries. The Democratic primary will include candidates Toni Stewart, Ronald Pittman, Kirk deViere and Karla Icaza.  Seven candidates will compete in the Republican primary — Ron Ross, Jeremy Stanley, Peter Pappas, Jonathan C. Strange, Pavan D. Patel, Venus de la Cruz and Henry Tyson. Republican candidate V. Lee Spruill III will be on the ballot but announced Thursday that he has suspended his campaign. De la Cruz said in January that she would not actively campaign but told CityView on  Thursday that she would "put everything into it" if she makes it past the primary.
  • U.S. House District 9’s race will have a Republican primary, with incumbent Rep. Richard Hudson facing off against challenger Troy L. Tarazon.

Editor's note: This story has been updated to reflect that Republican candidates Lee Spruill suspended his campaign and Venus de la Cruz will not actively campaign.

Reporter Lexi Solomon can be reached at lsolomon@cityviewnc.com or 910-423-6500.

To keep CityView Today going and to grow our impact even more, we're asking our committed readers to consider becoming a member.

Take one minute to join now.

Elections, Cumberland County, early voting, Cumberland County Board of Commissioners