Log in Newsletter


Your guide to Fayetteville’s primary election


Election season is under way in Fayetteville, and voters will have a final chance to cast their ballots in three races in the city’s primary election Tuesday. 

The mayor’s seat, as well as the city council District 2 and 5 seats, are on Tuesday’s ballot. The two candidates with the most votes in each race will face off in the general election on Nov. 7, at which point Cumberland County voters will be able to cast ballots for a handful of additional races that do not have primaries. Polls are open on Election Day from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

From a new voter ID law to the list of candidates, here’s what you need to know to make sure you can cast your ballot in Tuesday’s election. 

Who’s on Tuesday’s ballot?

  • In the race for mayor are incumbent Mayor Mitch Colvin; former Cumberland County Commissioner and Fayetteville City Council member Charles Evans; Freddie de la Cruz; and Quancidine Hinson-Gribble. For a more in-depth look at each candidate, read CityView’s coverage of the mayoral contest.  
  • In the District 2 City Council race are incumbent Shakeyla Ingram; Malik Davis; Anastasia J. Vann; Laura Rodrigues Mussler; Janene (Dublin) Ackles; Gail Morfesis; and Larry Marshall.
  • In the District 5 City Council race are incumbent Johnny Dawkins; Fred G. LaChance III; Justin Herbe; and Lynne Bissette Greene.

Where can I find my voting precinct?

Voters can only cast a ballot at their registered polling place on Election Day. To find your polling place, a sample ballot, and check voter registration, use the Voter Search tool on the N.C. State Board of Elections website. Voters can also look up their polling place through the Election Day Polling Place search tool

How long do I have to vote?

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. So long as a voter joins the line at their assigned polling place by 7:30 p.m., they will be able to cast a ballot in the election. 

The NCSBE advises visiting the polls during off-peak hours, as polling sites are likely to be busiest in the early morning and late evening. 

What do I need to bring?

As of this fall's municipal elections, all voters in N.C. are now required to show photo identification when casting their ballots. Voters who are 65 and older can use an expired form of ID if the card was unexpired on their 65th birthday and is among the list of acceptable IDs. 

The following IDs — that are not expired, or have been expired for one year or less — are acceptable:

  • North Carolina driver’s license
  • State ID from the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles (also known as a “non-operator ID”)  
  • Driver’s license or non-driver’s license from another state, District of Columbia, or U.S. territory (if the voter registered in N.C. within 90 days of the election)
  • U.S. passport or U.S. passport card
  • Voter ID card issued by the Cumberland County Board of Elections
  • College or university student ID, as approved by NCSBE
  • State or local government or charter school employee ID, as approved by NCSBE

Voters can also bring the following IDs, regardless of whether it is expired, though the card must contain a photo:

  • Military or veteran ID card issued by the U.S. government
  • Tribal enrollment card issued by a federally or state-recognized tribe
  • Public assistance ID card issued by a North Carolina or U.S. government agency. (The NCSBE has noted that the State Board is currently unaware of any public assistance ID cards containing a photo, which the new law stipulates must be on the card in order for it to qualify as an acceptable form of ID.)

The change follows a contentious, years-long legal battle over voter ID. In April, the majority-Republican N.C. Supreme Court ruled that a photo ID mandate is not unconstitutional, reversing a decision made by a previous iteration of the court only months prior in December.

Voters without an acceptable form of ID will still be able to cast their ballot, but must fill out and meet the requirements for an ID Exception form. For more information on acceptable forms of voter ID, visit the State Board’s website.  

Why do some races have a primary and others don’t?

Per N.C. law, municipalities that use nonpartisan primaries and with more than two candidates for a single position will use a primary to narrow the election field to two individuals. Primaries are not held for races when only one or two candidates file for a single office — as is the case for other district seats on the Fayetteville City Council. Those candidates, along with the Oct. 10 primary winners, will appear on the general election ballot in November. 

In the Nov. 7 general election, Cumberland County voters will be casting their ballots for races in Fayetteville, Eastover, Falcon, Godwin, Hope Mills, Linden, Spring Lake, Stedman and Wade. Voters can access additional information on those races by viewing the State Board’s 2023 Municipal Elections map and clicking on Cumberland County.

For more information, contact the Cumberland County Board of Elections at 910-678-7733 or visit their website.

Contact Maydha Devarajan at mdevarajan@cityviewnc.com.

The CityView News Fund is a nonprofit organization that supports CityView’s newsgathering operation. Will you help us with a tax-deductible donation?

primaries, 2023, fayetteville, city council, mayor, voter ID