Log in Newsletter

Early voting ends Saturday in primary races for municipal office

Tuesday’s election will decide candidates for Fayetteville mayor, 2 council seats


Only two days remain for one-stop, early voting in the municipal primary election.

New election laws require that voters present photo identification. Those without a photo ID can get one free at the Cumberland County Board of Elections Office.

Early voting will continue from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday at the Cumberland County Board of Elections Office, 227 Fountainhead Lane.

Three contests for Fayetteville city office have primary elections this cycle: City Council Districts 2 and 5 and the mayoral race. 

Residents can register to vote on the same day they vote during the early-voting period. Voters must be a U.S. citizen, 18 or older, and a legal resident of Cumberland County for 30 days before the date of the next election. To be eligible to vote in a municipal election, voters must be a city resident.

Go to the State Board of Elections website to use an interactive map to see municipal elections by location at ncsbe.gov/voting/upcoming-election

Voter ID requirements

As of 2023, all voters in North Carolina will be required to show photo identification to vote.

Acceptable forms of ID include:

  • North Carolina driver’s license.
  • State ID from the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles (also called non-operator ID).
  • Driver’s license or non-driver’s license from another state, District of Columbia, or U.S. territory (only if voter registered in North Carolina within 90 days of the election).
  • U.S. passport or U.S. passport card.
  • Voter ID card issued by the county Board of Elections.
  • College or university student ID approved by the State Board of Elections.
  • State or local government or charter school employee ID approved by the State Board of Elections. 

To learn more about the photo ID requirement, acceptable forms of identification and how to get a free voter ID, visit ncsbe.gov/voting/voter-id.

For more information, contact the Cumberland County Board of Elections at 910-678-7733 or visit cumberlandcountync.gov/elections.

On the primary ballot are the races for Fayetteville mayor and City Council members representing Districts 2 and 5.

The mayor field includes incumbent Mayor Mitch Colvin, former Cumberland County Commissioner and Fayetteville City Council member Charles Evans; Freddie de la Cruz; and Quancidine Hinson-Gribble.

In the District 2 City Council contest, incumbent Shakeyla Ingram is being challenged by Malik Davis, Anastasia J. Vann, Laura Rodrigues Mussler, Janene (Dublin) Ackles, Gail Morfesis and Larry Marshall.

In District 5, incumbent Johnny Dawkins faces challengers Fred G. LaChance III, Justin Herbe and Lynne Bissette Greene.

In the Hope Mills Board of Commissioners race, candidates include challengers Ronnie Strong, Pat Edwards, Mark Hess, Deanna L. Rosario, H. Elyse Craver, Karen Smith Saracen, Ronald Starling and Patrick Mitchell, as well as incumbents Bryan A. Marley, Kenjuana McCray, Jerry Legge, Grilley Mitchell and Joanne Scarola.

In Spring Lake, candidates for the Board of Aldermen include challengers Daniel B. Gerald, Jackie Lee Jackson, James P. O’Garra and Katrina (Bell) Bratcher and incumbents Robyn Chadwick, Sona L. Cooper, Adrian Jones Thompson, Marvin Lackman and Raul Palacios.

The municipal primaries are scheduled for Tuesday, and the general election is Nov. 7.

Municipal offices that will be on the ballot include:

  • Fayetteville: mayor, all nine City Council seats.
  • Eastover Sanitary District: one board member.
  • Eastover: mayor, three town council seats.
  • Falcon: mayor, all four council seats.
  • Godwin: mayor, all four council seats.
  • Hope Mills: mayor, all five council seats.
  • Linden: mayor, all five council seats.
  • Spring Lake: mayor, all five council seats.
  • Stedman: three council seats.
  • Wade: mayor, all five council seats.

The CityView News Fund is a nonprofit organization that supports CityView’s newsgathering operation. Will you help us with a tax-deductible donation?

Fayetteville, election, City Council, mayor, Hope Mills, Spring Lake